skip to main content

Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of Mississippi

The 2018 Physics Nobel Prize

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”. One half to Arthur Ashkin, “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems” and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”.